SallyHepworth.jpg
Hepworth-Midwives_3d.jpg

sally hepworth

The Secrets of Midwives

www.sallyhepworthauthor.com


The Secrets of Midwives is women's fiction at its finest. Sally Hepworth has written a wonderfully satisfying story about three generations of midwives. It's touching, tender and obviously meticulously researched, giving the reader a fascinating window into the amazing world of midwifery. A delightful read.” ―Liane Moriarty, author of The Husband's Secret


The Secrets of Midwives follows three generations in a family of midwives — mother, daughter, and grandmother — and the secrets of their pasts that are revealed when the youngest unmarried daughter reveals she herself is pregnant.

Neva Bradley is a third-generation midwife living in Boston. A natural introvert, she’s never courted attention like her flamboyant mother, nor become a trailblazer like her grandmother. So when she finds out she’s pregnant, Neva decides to keep the news a secret from her family and coworkers. But she soon realizes that even the bulkiest sweater isn’t going to keep her news hidden forever. She’s going to have to admit she’s pregnant…and reveal the identity of the baby’s father.

Grace, Neva’s mother, craves the passion and attention her daughter shies from. But her once-hot relationship with her husband is sputtering, and her own daughter barely tolerates her. When Neva announces her pregnancy — and refuses to reveal the baby’s father — Grace finds herself a challenge that just might add some excitement to her dreary life.

Then there's Floss, Neva’s grandmother, a retired midwife enjoying a new relationship, the first authentic one of her life. But when her granddaughter reveals the mysterious nature of her pregnancy, Floss is thrust back 60 years in time to a secret that eerily mirrors her granddaughter’s — a secret which, if revealed, will have life-changing consequences for them all.

Will these women reveal their secrets and deal with the inevitable consequences? Or are some secrets best kept hidden?


Sally Hepworth is the bestselling author of The Secrets of Midwives which has been labeled “enchanting” by The Herald Sun, “smart and engaging” by Publishers Weekly, and New York Times bestselling authors Liane Moriarty and Emily Giffin have praised Sally’s debut novel as “women’s fiction at its finest” and “totally absorbing”. The Secrets of Midwives was also the highest selling debut Australian fiction of the year in 2015.  
 
Sally is also the author of The Things We Keep, published in January 2016. The Things We Keep was a Library Journal Pick in the U.S. for January 2016, and an Indie Next Pick in the U.S. for February 2016. NYT bestselling author of The Rosie Project, Graeme Simsion praised The Things We Keep calling it ‘A compelling read that touches on important themes, not least the different forms that love may take.” Her third book, The Mother’s Promise was released by St. Martins Griffin in 2018. Sally lives in Melbourne, Australia with her husband and two children.  


Published by St. Martin's Press in 2015.


More praise for The Secrets of Midwives:
 
“From the first page, I could not put The Secrets of Midwives down. Sally Hepworth delves into family secrets and family love in two different eras, adding mystery and plot twists at a breathless, exhilarating pace. I simply love this book!” ― Ann Hood, author of The Knitting Circle
 
“The Secrets of Midwives is a compelling exploration of life, loss, and love. Family secrets test the bonds between three women--Neva, her mother Grace, and her grandmother Floss--as they bring babies into the world and navigate their own complex paths. The story deepens and enlarges as it moves through their varied perspectives to its powerful conclusion.” ― Christina Baker Kline, author of The Orphan Train

“With empathy and keen insight, Sally Hepworth delivers a page-turning novel about the complex, lovely, and even heartbreaking relationships between mothers and daughters. The Secrets of Midwives is that rare tale that weaves together the past and the present in a totally absorbing narrative. Sally Hepworth illuminates one of the most important moments in a woman's life--when she becomes a mother--and spins a story that will hold you captivated till the very end.” ― Emily Giffin, author of The One and Only
 
“Hepworth's debut enchants…as three midwives unravel their secrets in the path of a classic New England storm…. combines vibrant and nuanced characters with a breathtaking plot.” ― Beatriz Williams, author of A Hundred Summers
 


Hepworth-Things-We-Keep-3d.jpg

The Things We Keep

A People Magazine Pick

"A devastatingly beautiful love story" ― People


Anna Forster is only thirty-eight years old, but her mind is slowly slipping away from her. Armed only with her keen wit and sharp-eyed determination, she knows that her family is doing what they believe to be best when they take her to Rosalind House, an assisted living facility. But Anna has a secret: she does not plan on staying. She also knows there's just one another resident who is her age, Luke. What she does not expect is the love that blossoms between her and Luke even as she resists her new life. As her disease steals more and more of her memory, Anna fights to hold on to what she knows, including her relationship with Luke. 
 
Eve Bennett, suddenly thrust into the role of single mother to her bright and vivacious seven-year-old daugher, finds herself putting her culinary training to use at Rosalind house. When she meets Anna and Luke, she is moved by the bond the pair has forged. But when a tragic incident leads Anna's and Luke's families to separate them, Eve finds herself questioning what she is willing to risk to help them. Eve has her own secrets, and her own desperate circumstances that raise the stakes even higher. 
 
With huge heart, humor, and a compassionate understanding of human nature, Sally Hepworth delivers a pageturning novel about the power of love to grow and endure even when faced with the most devastating of obstacles. You won’t forget this book. 


Published in 2016.


More praise for The Things We Keep:  

"A poignant testament to the immeasurable and restorative power of love.... Sure to appeal to fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Piccoult, and Lisa Genova; book clubs will be lining up." — Library Journal, starred review  

"Hepworth’s debut, The Secrets of Midwives, was critically acclaimed, and it’s always a formidable task to impress readers with a second novel. But with THE THINGS WE KEEP, Hepworth proves that literary lightning can indeed strike twice." — BookPage

"A compelling read that touches on important themes, not least the different forms that love may take. Sally Hepworth succeeds by engaging our common humanity, capacity for love and sense of humour." — Graeme Simsion, New York Times bestselling author of The Rosie Project


Hepworth-Mothers-Promise-3d.jpg

The Mother’s Promise  


“Grab the tissues: this story of a mother’s search for a loving, fierce protector for her child won’t leave you dry-eyed.” —People


With every book, Sally Hepworth becomes more and more known for her searing emotional portraits of families―and the things that test their bonds. In The Mother’s Promise, she delivers her most powerful novel yet: the story of a single mother who is dying, the troubled teenaged daughter who is battling her own demons, and the two women who come into their lives at the most critical moment. Alice and her daughter Zoe have been a family of two all their lives. Zoe has always struggled with crippling social anxiety and her mother has been her constant and fierce protector. With no family to speak of, and the identity of Zoe’s father shrouded in mystery, their team of two works―until it doesn’t. Until Alice gets sick and is given a grim prognosis. 
 
Desperate to find stability for Zoe, Alice reaches out to two women who are practically strangers, but who are her only hope: Kate, her oncology nurse, and Sonja, a social worker. As the four of them come together, a chain of events is set into motion and all four of them must confront their sharpest fears and secrets―secrets about abandonment, abuse, estrangement, and the deepest longing for family. Imbued with heart and humor in even the darkest moments, The Mother’s Promise is an unforgettable novel about the power of love and forgiveness. 


Published by St. Martin’s Griffin in 2018.  


Hepworth-Family-Next-Door-3d.jpg

The Family Next Door


“A work full of searing secrets and riveting revelations…Readers will be sucked in from the first page…This novel is not to be missed…It will stick with readers for a long time.”— Library Journal, Starred Review


Small, perfect towns often hold the deepest secrets.

From the outside, Essie’s life looks idyllic: a loving husband, a beautiful house in a good neighborhood, and a nearby mother who dotes on her grandchildren. But few of Essie’s friends know her secret shame: that in a moment of maternal despair, she once walked away from her newborn, asleep in her carriage in a park. Disaster was avoided and Essie got better, but she still fears what lurks inside her, even as her daughter gets older and she has a second baby.

When a new woman named Isabelle moves in next door to Essie, she is an immediate object of curiosity in the neighborhood. Why single, when everyone else is married with children? Why renting, when everyone else owns? What mysterious job does she have? And why is she so fascinated with Essie? As the two women grow closer and Essie’s friends voice their disapproval, it starts to become clear that Isabelle’s choice of neighborhood was no accident. And that her presence threatens to bring shocking secrets to light.

The Family Next Door is Sally Hepworth at her very best: at once a deeply moving portrait of family drama and a compelling suburban mystery that will keep you hooked until the very last page.


Published by St. Martin’s in 2018


More Praise for The Family Next Door:

Big Little Lies fans, this one’s for you.” ― Harper’s Bazaar

“A book Liane Moriarty fans will love.” ― Marie Claire

"Hepworth deftly keeps the reader turning pages and looking for clues, all the while building multilayered characters and carefully doling out bits of their motivations." ― Booklist